Back on the Howgills

I’ve had a busy couple of weeks so I’ve just got around to writing up a day out in the Howgills almost two weeks ago. It was looking like a fine day so I let the traffic die down and set off mid morning up the M6 to Sedbergh. On a quiet motorway it took about 90 minutes to get there and park up. It was late enough in the morning for the shops and cafes that were trading that Friday (and not all of them were – that’s Sedbergh for you) were open for business so I popped into the Gun Dog cafe for a coffee as I reckoned it, along with every other cafe and shop in the town, wouldn’t be open by the time I got down off the hills. I was right, of course.

After booting up I set off on a familiar path heading up towards the fells via Settlebeck Gill

Settlebeck Gill

It was a warm day but the sky was overcast with high cloud.

My route took me down to the beck which I crossed over to join a path that climbed gradually up the flank of Crook, one of the smaller fells that overlook Sedbergh.

There were good views back over to Baugh Fell, Middleton Fell and beyond, although long range visibility was a little hazy.

I was heading towards Arant Haw but getting higher decided to take a right turn and make my way to the summit of Crook where I took a break to take in the views.

Looking east towards Sickers Fell and Knott and beyond with Wild Boar Fell visible in the distance.
Looking south to Baugh Fell and the Yorkshire Dales
Looking north to Aran Haw
Looking west to Winder with Arnside and Morecambe Bay just about visible in the distance

Time to move on, heading towards Arant Haw, but I turned off the path once I hit the broader bridleway track having decided that it was going to be a grand day and that I’d make my way to Calders and The Calf, the highest point in the Howgills.

I was now high up on the Howgills views of the ridges and valleys stretching off both sides of the path, Waignwrights “herd of sleeping elephants”

There’s a steep pull up to the top of Calders where the path levels off for a relatively easy trot to the top of the Calf.

Time for another “view break” and a bite to eat. The cloud was beginning to clear away from the north west revealing blue skies and clearer long range visibility.

Looking west towards the Lakes. I could make out the Coniston fells, the Safells, Great End and Great Gable amongst others
I could see all three of the Yorkshire 3 Peaks in the distance, although it was still a little murky in that direction

Time to turn back towards the west and wanting to stay high up rather than descend down one of the ridges. I retraced my steps, diverting to the summit of Bran Rigg Top (it was tricky to locate on that featureless rounded hill top) and over and down off Calders,

heading towards Arant Haw

I deviated off the main path to climb up to the top of Arant Haw.

Long range visibility continued to improve as the cloud cleared.

Looking back towards Calders from near the summit of Arant Haw

53712319264_74ecb14906_o

Next I took the path down then hill and then started the clmb to the more modest hill of Winder

A couple of the local Rough Fell sheep and a view down towards the valley
The path up Winder
Looking back from Winder
Zooming in on Wild Boar Fell
Looking south west across the valley with Whernside and Ingleborough visible in the distance

I stayed sitting in the sunshine on the hillside for a while a soaking up the views. I didn’t particularly feel like moving. It was so quiet and peaceful up there with only a handful of dog walkers (and plenty of sheep) around. But eventually it was time to make my way down towards Sedbergh, retracing my steps on the bridleway before turning down the path that descended above Settlebeck Gill

A curious Rough Fell sheep
Sunshine all round now
Back in Sedbergh

That had been a grand walk on what had turned into a lovely late spring afternoon. I really didn’t feel like setting off home. But I couldn’t stay. Wigan were playing on Saturday afternoon and on Sunday I had to get reading before jetting off on a little adventure on the Monday – a little work and a little pleasure.

15 thoughts on “Back on the Howgills

  1. The Yorkshire Moors, a mystic sort of place and one we have unfortunately driven through more than walked. One day in the meantime enjoying reading and viewing your walks.

  2. Love the Howgills and especially the way the ridges and slopes all seem to line up in parallel symmetry from certain angles. Great walk and Sedbergh is a lovely curious little town

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.