A longer Settle Loop

A031A5EF-122C-4242-A809-0410EC343108

Sunday morning I was up early and greeted by what promised to be a fine day. After a leisurely breakfast I mad up some sandwiches and a flask of coffee and got ready for a walk up on the hills. No need to drive anywhere to start the walk as I was able to set out from the front door.

A few months ago I’d seen Alistair Campbell (not my favourite person) walking in this area on a Winter Walk on TV. Watching this had inspired me to do some walking around here and when we were thinking of where we might stay for a short break, Settle came to mind. I’d seen a circular route from Settle on the Discovering Britain Website (the downloadable booklet describing the walk includes some very interesting information by a local) and had originally thought I’d follow that. However, on the day I decided to extend the walk, heading towards Malham and then looping back towards Langcliffe on the Pendle Bridleway. I could have extended further by popping into Malham, but a quick calculation suggested I’d have trouble getting back before sunset and didn’t want to get stuck in the dark on unfamiliar moors. Going into Malham was certainly doable but I’ll have to save that for another time when longer days would allow me to linger for a while.

DSC00811
The view from the front door
DSC00814
The neighbours across the road

I had to walk into Settle and then head up through the streets on to the old Langcliffe Road, before turning off onto the moor.

DSC00738
Looking down over Settle
DSC00739
Setting off down the lane onto the moor
DSC00740
Zooming in onto the row of mill houses and the old mill. I could see our holiday home and our car!
DSC00743
On the moor now. An old drystone wall on my right. I’d be saying mile upon mile of them during my walk
DSC00745
I turned off the Langcliffe path climbing steeply up the hill. This is the view looking back down towards settle and the Giggleswick Scar
DSC00747
Nearing the top of the climb Penyghent came into view
DSC00748
Close to the summit of the path now, with the Warrendale Knotts on the left
DSC00750
Well into limestone country now
DSC00751
The limestone cliffs are riddled with caves
DSC00753
Attermire Scar came into view
DSC00754
Looking back towards the Warrendale Knotts
DSC00756
Attermire Scar. It’s almost hard to believe that these mighty cliffs were created from the skeletal remains of tiny sea creatures
DSC00757
Looking back again
DSC00759
I stopped for a brew and a croissant and took yet another photo looking back to the limestome cliffs. The terrain to the left is very different as the scars mark the change from millstone grit to limestone geology. The land to the left is very boggy and that’s the origin of the name of Attermire – “mire” is an old word for bog
DSC00761
Looking over the mire I had a hazy view of Pendle Hill
DSC00764
The route now took me over a stile and onto the Stockdale Lane.
DSC00765
I was on tarmac for a while on the quiet lane but it turned into a rough track after the turnoff for Stockdale farm. A gradual climb now for a few miles on the path towards Malham
DSC00766
A couple of miles before Malham I turned north. Malham Tarn soon came into view
DSC00767
zooming in
DSC00771
A large herd of Belted Galloways were grazing quiety, not paying any attention tot he walkers and cyclists passing by
DSC00774
DSC00775
I passed a section of limestone pavement
DSC00776
and this long line of sheep
DSC00777
The distinctive profile of Ingleborough came into view
DSC00779
and, a little further on, Penyghent
DSC00781
All three of the Three Peaks came into view
DSC00788
Getting closer to Langcliffe I approached more Limestone scars
DSC00789
DSC00791
There’s Jubilee cave – I popped up to have a quick look inside.
A5C08BDD-901D-4B32-BB1C-080524D396F2
There wasn’t much to see – just a black hole!
DSC00794
DSC00796
DSC00797
DSC00798
Approaching the minor road from Langcliffe to Malham
DSC00799
DSC00806
Looking down to Langcliffe
45BCB46E-0309-4096-8CEC-7C7A7371571E
Rather than walk down into the village, I cut off across the fields back towards Settle and then back to our holiday home.
E28D77E8-8ABD-448C-8F96-0776C5924C54

About 10 minutes before I arrived I got a phone call. It was J asking how long I’d be and did I want her to make a brew for when I got back. Did I? Silly question 🤣. And that was good timing!

10 thoughts on “A longer Settle Loop

  1. That’s quite a loop! I was in that mire a few weeks ago, but have never made the connection with the name until now.

  2. Great walk that. It’s wonderful up by Attermire Scar. We had a fb day up there when the kids were smaller playing about in the caves there and at Victoria and Jubilee caves. Limestone country is my favourite especially those broad grassy paths.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.