An evening walk

The rain cleared a couple of hours after my walk and the sun decided to show it’s face for a while. This was the view from the garden of my B&B

IMG_6715.jpg

IMG_6716.jpg

I needed to get myself something to eat, so set out towards the village, passing St Andrew’s church on the way. John Ruskin is buried in the church yard and Donald Campbell, who died attempting to break the water speed record on Coniston Water, is buried in a newer graveyard a short distance away.

IMG_6718.jpgIMG_6719.jpg

Just round the corner, on the main street, I went into the Black Bull for my meal. The pub brews it’s own prize winning ales, but I was disappointed to find that they didn’t sell non-alcoholic brews so had to make do with a Diet Coke.

It was a pleasant evening, so after eating, I decided to stroll down to the Lake for a short walk along the shore and back through the fields to my B&B.

The lake looked good in the late evening light.

IMG_6729.jpgIMG_6732.jpg Walking back through the fields I passed some locals

IMG_6736.jpg

Back in my room I settled down for the evening and watched a film on the Smart TV.  Not long after the rain returned. I was keeping my fingers crossed that it would have gone by the morning.

11 thoughts on “An evening walk

  1. Nice evening stroll. We were in Coniston – well Torver just down the road – last weekend. Next time you’re go for the Steam Bistro, wonderful food and you take your own drinks

    • Yes, we know Steam. We ate there the last couple of times we were staying in Coniston
      . This time I was on my own and only wanted a quick pub meal. Agree with your comments about the restaurant though 😊

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.