St Margaret’s Tower, Staveley

IMG_1385

St Margaret’s tower stands in the centre of the village of Staveley in Cumbria. It’s all that’s left of a church that used to occupy the site, which was demolished in 1865 when a new church, St James’, was opened on drier, higher ground. Since then the tower has stood proud in the small graveyard. The clock  at the top of the tower, was added in 1887 to celebrate the Golden Jubilee of Queen Victoria.

St James’ has a stained glass window designed by Edward Burne-Jones and made by Morris and Company. I really must go and have a look next time I’m in the village.

2 thoughts on “St Margaret’s Tower, Staveley

  1. “I really must go and have a look next time I’m in the village.”
    I’ve often thought that, but I’ve still never got around to it.

    • I was in Brum yesterday on business but found time to pop into the cathedral as I had an hour to wait for my train. The cathedral has stained glass windows designed by Byrne-Jones and Manufactured by Morris and Co, just like at Staveley. They are quite stunning.

Leave a Reply

