Going Underground

DSC01665

The Greenwich foot tunnel under the Thames was opened on 4 August 1902 as a means for dock workers who lived on the south side of the river to reach their workplaces on the Isle of Dogs.

DSC01666 (2)

It’s about 1/4 mile long, free to use and open 24 hours a day.

I took the spiral staircase down to the bottom

DSC01667

and then walked across to Greenwich

DSC01669

DSC01671

No cycling allowed

DSC01794

Hmm. Obviously the rules don’t apply to these guys. Walking back through the tunnel when I was heading back to my hotel around 6 o’clock I was nearly hit several times by inconsiderate cyclists speeding past in the narrow passage.

This is the way you’re supposed to do it

DSC01668

At the Greenwich end of the tunnel I cheated and took the lift back to ground level – to be greeted by this view.

DSC01677

The Cutty Sark

and a view towards Hawksmoor’s St Alfege’s church

DSC01678

4 thoughts on “Going Underground

  1. That was one of our favourite trips when I lived in London. Boat to Greenwich, under the foot tunnel and a walk to Canary Wharf and then back to the City by the DLR driver-less trains, sat at the front!

    • I was going to get the DLR back but ended up walking. It was rush hour and I didn’t fancy being crushed up like a sardine (like I was going back to Euston the next day). I need the exercise too 🙂

Leave a Reply

