Return to the IMMA

IMAG4704 

I’m back working in Ireland this week. I caught the fast ferry from Holyhead that arrived early afternoon, so I had a few hours to myself before heading to my hotel in Naas. I decided to head over to Kilmainham, about half an hour from Dublin Port and on my route to Naas, to visit the Irish Museum of Modern Art (IMMA) in the old Kilmainham Royal Hospital. It’s somewhere I’ve visited quite a few times over the past few years – there’s usually something on that’s worth seeing and it’s always pleasant to take a walk in the formal garden which changes with the seasons.

IMAG4700

IMAG4682

There were four exhibitions showing, and I was able to look around all of them. I wasn’t impressed by the Patrick Hennessey exhibition, his work didn’t appeal to me, but there were a number of works I liked in the exhibitions of the work by the Italian artist Carol Rama and in the IMMA Collection: A Decade, which

provides a snapshot of how the National Collection of modern and contemporary art has developed over the past 10 years. 

I also enjoyed the multimedia exhibition The Humanizer by the British/Japanese artist Simon Fujiwara, newly commissioned by the IMMA.

I also had time to take a stroll through  the formal gardens. Everything was fresh and green

DSC08669 

but being early in the season very few plants were in bloom. The garden will be at it’s best in a few weeks, I think.

DSC08670

DSC08666

DSC08668

DSC08672

4 thoughts on “Return to the IMMA

  1. I don’t have Kilmainham nor IMMA on my ‘list’ but sail for Belfast on Wednesday with an itinerary from Co Fermanagh to Co Cork and places in between including Birr, Dublin, Howth and Prosperous. Looking forward!

    • Sounds like our paths will almost be crossing yet again! Another good trip for you to look forward to. I know you have mentioned Birr before. I’ve not made it over to there so looking forward to your report 😉

Leave a Reply

