Turn right at Bondi Beach

DSC03474

I was greeted by a very grey, overcast sky when I got off the bus at Bondi Beach. Although it’s nice to experience bright blue skies and sunshine, I didn’t intend to spend the day lounging on the beach sun-bathing or swimming or surfing in the sea. That isn’t particularly my style. I soon get bored sitting on the sand, even with a good book to read. I’d come to Bondi Beach as it’s one of those places you just have to be able to say you’ve been to when you’ve visited Sydney, but also because I planned to do something I do enjoy – taking a walk along the coast. There’s a good coastal path along the cliffs and across the sandy bays between Bondi and Coogee Beach, a 6 km walk.

DSC03475

So although it was overcast it was pleasantly warm and a good day for a walk.

DSC03480

It was quiet on the beach, probably due to the weather and as the main summer holidays hadn’t started, but there were still some people in the water, swimming and surfing.

DSC03482

I stopped to look at some of the street art on the prom

DSC03476

DSC03477

DSC03478

I set off heading south, taking the path that climbed up towards the cliffs. passing a penguin standing on the rocks

DSC03485

DSC03487

After a short while I came to Tamara beach

DSC03489

There were a few other people around enjoying the views

DSC03490

Then on to Bronte Beach

15802812297_a8cbb8cf21_o

Where I stopped for a while enjoying the view while I has a “flat white”

15962771896_c9b1d86185_o

Then back on the path along the cliffs,

DSC03496

passing Waverley cemetery

DSC03500

not such a bad final resting place, although the residents can’t exactly enjoy the view.

DSC03497

Carrying on along the cliffs

DSC03501

at one point stopping for a chat with a fellow Rugby League fan, wearing a Penrith Panthers baseball cap, who was walking in the opposite direction.

On towards the next cove

DSC03503

These houses must cost a few bob

DSC03505

Coogee, my destination, started to come into view

DSC03507

Along the sandstone cliffs

DSC03508

The cloud was starting to clear

DSC03510

On the cliffs overlooking Coogee beach there was a memorial to the Bali bomb victimes, a number who came from this area

DSC03511

I started the descent to Coogee beach

DSC03514

Looking back towards the coastal path

DSC03517

Not long after reaching my destination the cloud had cleared

DSC03520

This is what you imagine an Australian beach to look like!

DSC03519

A good morning’s walk.

This is the route (from here)

bondi map

Leave a Reply

