Return to Helsinki

DSC02550

Four weeks ago I walked out of an airport into what felt like an oven. Yesterday I got off a plane and walked into a fridge. In the first case I was in Abu Dhabi, but this week I’m in Helsinki.

I’m over here for the week with work but came over a day early so that I could have a look around. I’ve been here before, a short trip almost exactly three years ago (time flies!) when I also managed to tag a day on to the trip.

Being November it was going dark by the time I left the airport at 4 in the afternoon. But after checking into my hotel in the centre of the city I went for a wander and managed to take a few photos.

The Russian Orthodox Uspenski Cathedral that overlooks the main harbour

DSC02544

A Baltic ferry setting sail

DSC02545

The Lutheran Cathedral in Senate Square

DSC02546

DSC02547 

The Contemporary Art Museum (closed for renovation until next year, unfortunately.

DSC02727

The Music Centre

DSC02728

Finlandia Hall

DSC02724

Looking over the water towards the Finnish National Opera House

DSC02725

The Wooden Church, just round the back of my hotel

DSC02729

6 thoughts on “Return to Helsinki

Leave a Reply

