A fine Autumn day in the Plantations

I woke up to a beautiful frosty morning and a blue sky with hardly a cloud. And it’s stayed nice here all day. So after dinner (midday meal round here!) I wrapped up and went out for a walk in the Plantations. I ended up doing one of my favourite routes which is a total of 5 or 6 miles, so I was out over two hours. It was quite wet and muddy underfoot, but I was wearing my boots so that wasn’t a problem. The air temperature wasn’t very high but it was sunny and the air was quite still, so combined with the metabolic heat from walking I soon got quite warm. It was really nice walking through the woods with the sun shining through the trees lighting up the red and gold autumn leaves.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Just a few hundred yards from my house and I’m down by the River Douglas. On the north side of town it forms a green corridor leading to the Lower Plantations in Haigh Country Park. My route took me through the woods and up to Haigh Hall and then back down to Wigan Lane. I diverted over to the Orchid House cafe over the valley towards the end of my walk for a coffee and  a toasted teacake – yum! Afterwards, making my way home along the valley, the light was starting to fail and the sun, low on the horizon now, lit up the clouds.

Leave a Reply

