“All My Sons” at the Royal Exchange

I know you’re no worse than most men but I thought you were better. I never saw you as a man. I saw you as my father.”

ALL MY SONS Poster Image

Last Saturday we went to see the latest production at the Royal Exchange Theatre in Manchester – Arthur Miller’s play “All my sons”. As with most of Miller’s plays the story was a critique of capitalism as well as a study of human emotions, relations and motivations. It’s based upon a true story – the supply of faulty aircraft engine parts to the US army during the Second World War. I’d seen the play before a few years ago at the Gate Theatre in Dublin, so it was interesting to compare productions.

The most notable difference, other than being played in the round rather than on a traditional stage, was that the Royal Exchange cast were all black actors, including Don Warrington, best known for his role in the TV series Rising Damp. I wondered what the significance of this was, but there wasn’t really one the colour of the actors’ skins was immaterial and very soon I stopped noticing it.

It was an enjoyable production with some strong performances from Don Warrington as Joe Keller, the father figure, Doña Croll as his wife Kate, and Chike Okonkwo as their son, Chris.

Leave a Reply

