The Champions and the Jet d’Eau

I’ve had a 20 franc note left over ever since I came back from Geneva a few weeks ago. So today I decided to pop into the Post Office to get it changed back into Sterling. Beforehand, I was having my dinner (mid day meal in Wigan!) in “The Coven” on Hallgate and when I was paying accidentally pulled the note out of my wallet. This  got me talking with the proprietor who mentioned that she’d been to Geneva for a day visit a few years ago and mentioned that she had particularly wanted to see the massive fountain, the Jet d’Eau which had featured in the opening credits of the 1970’s TV series, “The Champions”. Well that was also true for me. I was really keen to see the fountain for the same reason as “The Champions” was one of my favourite programmes when it was first shown (in mitigation, I was quite young).

The programme featured a team of three agents who worked for a secretive organisation based in Geneva Following a plane crash in Tibet they had acquired special super powers from a colony of monks, and used them in their fight against criminals and foreign agents. All rather corny, but I enjoyed it at the time!

Here’s the opening credits from Youtube

According to  the  Wikipedia article on the Jet d’Eau

Five hundred litres (132 gallons) of water per second are jetted to an altitude of 140 metres (459 feet) by two 500 kW pumps, operating at 2,400 V, consuming over one megawatt of electricity.[3][4][5] The water leaves the nozzle at a speed of 200 km/h (124 mph). When it is in operation, at any given moment there are about 7,000 litres (1849 gallons) of water in the air.

The fountain is only operated during restricted hours, especially during the winter moths and not during  very icy or windy weather. Luckily I was able to see it during my visit so wasn’t disappointed.

There’s more information on the Jet d’Eau here.

4 thoughts on “The Champions and the Jet d’Eau

  1. Good policy! Maybe a mistake on my part then – I can live in hope as I would like to see more of Switzerland, especially after reading the reports of your recent visit.

Leave a Reply

