And the nominations are ……

Since I started reading blogs I’ve noticed that there are a number of “awards” for which bloggers nominate blogs they enjoy reading. It’s a nice way to showing others how much you appreciate their efforts and to make other bloggers aware of their work.

Well I was very pleased to be nominated for the Sunshine Award, which is given to bloggers “who positively and creatively inspire others”, by John Pinder of Notes to the Milkman. Thanks John, it’s nice to know that my wittering is appreciated.

To accept the award you have to abide by some rules (that’s life!), and those for the Sunshine awards are:

  1. Link back your post to the blogger that nominated you  (done above)
  2. Answer 10 questions
  3. Nominate your favourite bloggers who you feel best fit the award. Link them to their pages and let them know they’ve been nominated.

Since I started reading and following blogs some 3 years ago I’ve built up quite a list of regulars that I’ve aggregated in Google Reader. Some are related to my work, others to my interests – books, art, architecture, music, travel, walking, science, politics etc. And there’s quite a few by people I’ve discovered who have similar interests to myself and who write about their everyday lives, books they’ve read, art, places they’ve visited and other various topics. I categorise these in Google Reader as “other lives” and it’s some of these that I’d like to nominate. They’re all blogs I enjoy and look forward to reading and they often give me inspiration for places to visit and things to see and do.  In alphabetical order they are:

A Place called space

dianajhale

Everyday life

La vie en straw

Milady’s Boudoir

Not just a mummy

Rhetorical Pens

I’ve just noticed that all but one of these bloggers are women. That must say something

Now, here are the questions and my answers

1).  What is your favourite colour?

Red. It reflects various aspects of my life

2).  What is your favourite animal?

A difficult one as I’m not really an animal person. But I used to have a pet Labrador when I was a boy so if I have to choose I’ll say dogs

3).  What is your favourite non-alcoholic drink?

A good cup of tea is hard to beat (but I do like a proper coffee as well)

4).   Do you prefer Facebook or Twitter?

Another tough one. Twitter probably edges it, but only just

5).  What’s your passion?

Another tricky one as there a re quite a few things I’m passionate about. But as I have to choose it has to be Wigan Warriors Rugby League club

6).  What’s your favourite pattern?

Cherry red and white hoops (see answer to Q5 for the reason)

7).  Do you prefer giving or getting presents?

Although it’s nice to receive presents giving is definitely better than receiving. I used to love Christmas day when my children were small – seeing the excited looks on the faces when they came down stairs (early!) in the morning and saw all their presents.

8).  What’s your favourite number?

42

9).  What is your favourite day of the week?

Many years ago, when I was going through a bad time at work I would have said Saturday. These days I enjoy my work, but I guess Saturday is still the day I can relax and chose to do what I want.

10).  What is your favourite flower?

No difficulty here. It has to be the red rose of Lancashire

10 thoughts on “And the nominations are ……

  1. Hi Mick,
    I am extremely pleased that you have been nominated Mick, as your blog is one that is ‘positively and creatively’, inspiring. I really enjoy reading it, which I do most days, and I would like to wish you the very best.

    And of course, thank you for your most generous nomination.

    • Thanks for your kind comments Eirene.

      One of the pleasures of being part of the blogging “community” is discovering people with similar interests and, sometimes, views.

      Your blog was at the head of my list – and not just for alphabetical reasons

      • Ahhh!
        The views are a bonus!
        I read in the paper this morning that you had a lot of rain in Wigan. I hope everything is o.k. with you.

      • Well it’s very wet where I am at the moment – in the middle of the Irish sea sailing to Dublin! I’m working over in Ireland this week.

        Back in Wigan, some parts of the town were flooded. It’s been a perenial problem there. Luckily, although I live quite close to the river our house is on top of a hill. We’ll be in trouble if we get flooded. Climate change will really have happened and the ice caps will have melted. 🙂

        The Environment Agency recently completed constructing a dam close to where I live and messing up the river valley in the process. It was supposed to alleviate the flooding that regularly affects parts of the town. It clearly hasn’t worked.

    • You’re welcome Lynn! I always enjoy reading your posts and I’m pleased to be able to show my appreciation.

      And I found that answering the questions was more difficult than I expected!

  2. Hi Mick,

    I hope all goes well in Dublin and that you have a good time. I have never been, so am looking forward to reading about it in your blog.

    I only just noticed the new look – you have changed the background colours. It looks good.

    • Hi Eirene

      I’m working (running a course) in Naas, which is about 20 miles outside Dublin. The town doesn’t have much to recommend it. Its a very historic town but there’s not much to se.e But I’m driving into Dublin tomorrow evening to go and see a play (“The House”) at the Abbey theatre.

      I’ve been to Dublin several times over the past 7 or 8 years and have written up a few posts in the past. I like the Georgian architecture and enjoy just wandering round the streets and squares. I might find a little time to do that, and snap a photo or two, before or after the play.

      I decided to change the look of the blog to a cleaner style. Glad you like it.

      • Hi Mick,

        I hope it does not get too boring in the evenings, given the way you describe the town, particularly if it rains, the way it has been here today. (I don’t know about you, but I am getting really sick of it). The play should be nice tomorrow though.

        I have wanted to go to Dublin for a long time now, but there are so many places to see… and somehow have not managed it yet. I have been to N. Ireland twice, and really liked it, but never the South.

        Eirene

      • It’s not been too bad. I try to avoid working too much in the evening, hence the trip into Dublin to watch the play (which was very good). The hotel has a decent pool so I was able to have a swim in the evening to when I felt like it. So I’ve coped! I’ve stayed in worse places. And the weather hasn’t been that bad so I’ve been able to get out for a walk si I’ve not had to be stuck indoors all week.

Leave a Reply

